Pleasing everybody else.

14 10 2008

“If you only try to please others, you’re going to resent those people you’re trying to please; the ones who are often closest to you. If you choose a path that you yourself want to take, then you’re going to be much kinder to the people in your life.”
—Sarah McLachlan

Since you can’t please everybody, please yourself. We cannot base our life and decisions on what others might think or do. As long as we are not hurting another person by doing that person wrong then we must decide what is best for ourselves.

Sometimes doing what is best for us does hurt others, but not because we are in the wrong or are doing them harm, it just isn’t what they want from us.
One day I was having one of those times where everything in my world seemed wrong. And in the middle of that I needed to make a rather large decision that would affect other people.

I put my favorite song on a cd and listened to it on the way up to KB today. I had felt burned out on being a good friend pretty much lately. I think a big part of that was that I tried to do the right thing, and do what God is leading me to do and I ended up hurting others, and basically losing a few friends. I really havent known what to do about that.

Watching Malay drama about forgiving others, even when they don’t ask for it, and it talks about asking for forgiveness, from others nurtured something new in my heart. I think about it and I’m stupid to let things go down the tubes with my friends. I know that I havent made good decisions, but I shouldn’t hide behind that. I need to come out and ask forgiveness, from god and from those I have wronged. If they choose not to, It’s too bad, but I should try to seek that.

We really can’t please the whole world. It takes a lot of energy to figure out what everyone else thinks, especially when we really don’t know what they think. And while one wants one thing from us, someone else wants another, and we can’t do both.

Sorry Miss M!

We must do what’s right for us first.

Ted Baker

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 10 2008
Faisal Admar

yes agree. we can’t please everybody. please yourself before others really the best thing to do.

15 10 2008
budleee

i had a revelation kelmarin…

i thought ted baker was a charater on TV..

but a trip to the optimitrist changed it

brand eyeware ker.. aiseh…. :p

15 10 2008
areps

TAHNIAHHHH

15 10 2008
axim

what if we could please everybodie’s??

does that will make us a lovable person?

*by da way,bila nak ajar i English??my english pretty bad loorr..hehe..

15 10 2008
wenkt

cool

15 10 2008
ombak

wah…i dah terbuang ..dlm list u erk…tk pe lah…thnks..

Leave a Reply

