Ted’s talk.. part 1

19 09 2008

Good morning uals! I have 3 things to say today:

  1. Jon McLaughlin (above) is super hot.
  2. Surprisingly to you, I actually do posses the seriousness gene despite of all the stupid things I rambled about in my blog.
  3. Why does everyone seems to be so fucking selfish these days? Who are we messing with? Do you happen to know that other people are also facing the same shit too? More details below!

As I sat and talked with Azie today, I realized something inherently missing from my life…the reason why my job previous job is unfulfilled and my previous life is flat lining:

I do nothing to improve the lives of anyone around me. In my past job, as menial or effortless as they have been, I have always known I was doing something to improve my corner of the world but for 10 months, it has stopped. Whether it was publishing someone’s request on the newspaper, improving the cleanliness of their home to help their allergies, or doing standard, run-of-the-mill community service, I was contributing light to the darkness. Someone was impacted positively by me or my company’s work. I don’t feel that now. I sometimes get no approval, no nods, little acknowledgment unless I do something dreadfully wrong.

Another thing that never ceases to amaze me is the disease of self-importance everyone has caught. Everyone is so self-righteous, self-gratifying and just selfish in general. I hate to say it, but I have succumbed to the pressure as well.

Politicians, coworkers, other drivers, friends, family, strangers, myself….everyone thinks they are the only person going through what they are going through. As if they were only person who needs to be heard, or needs to get paid more or isn’t getting shown enough attention. Like they are the only ones that are too busy, too overworked, too tired to get to the gym.  No one is smart enough or perfect enough to have everything figured out, with all the variables considered.

Everyone’s existence overlaps whether we like it or not. There isn’t one person on earth going unaffected by anyone else.  So c’mon.  Be more sensitive and I will try to be too. Your bad day could turn into a friend’s spoiled mood that turns into cutting someone off in traffic that could cause an accident that could cause someone to be even further in debt to miss work while they fix their totaled car. Then they can’t make their mortgage payment which could lead to them foreclosing on their house which could lead to interest rates going up, which can lead to a recession…which can lead to miserable, fucked up America 2008. It sounds exaggerated in this accelerated timeline here…but how far is it from the slowly unfolding truth? Sand grains in this hourglass we’re all slaves to, are all part of the big picture. NEWS FLASH:  The world, Malaysia, your state, your office building, your household; none of these things consist of only you.

Do your part. Start today. Pay it forward. Give more credit/love/patience/compliments than you receive. Treat people right. Don’t cheat or cut corners or pass the buck; do your part and contribute. No matter what happens today, someone else has it worse than you.

Maybe you’re in a spot right now that you need to make some changes to make that happen. Fine. Go to therapy. Read a self-help book. Go on a few interviews. Volunteer. Make an effort to listen to a friend’s day instead of chiming in with your own complaints. Compliment someone’s work. Let someone out into traffic. Let’s all be more patient with coworkers. Don’t take things so personally. Do things for others without expecting anything in return. Make your mom/boss/friend/significant other proud.

Allah gave us but one life to live and it’s our responsibility to brighten our corner of it.  Let’s go.

Ted Baker

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 09 2008
areps

penat tau aku baca entry kau yang panjang lebar ni…

I have called my driver and he will drive me home on 28th.

Life is just like a chain reaction. One lead to another. Everyone has their own part in this circle of life. Infact. This world do need special people like u.. . Opsss..

Hey.. About that past 10 months.. U hav done great dahling.. Gained experience and all. Make you wiser. I don’t think that it a waste. Hello BERNAMA.. Hahahaha…

Well done dahling.. A good entry.

19 09 2008
thegossiplounge

Aku tahu ko taste kat En. Zabidi kan! Sudeh!! Jom gi KFC, story dah siap! *matila ponteng! Miss that moment.

19 09 2008
areps

And don’t forget harung banjir ke ofis..Snap2 pose. Whaaaa biler lagi nak banjir cam tu… *matilah bangang..

19 09 2008
thegossiplounge

Kan. Air paras dada. Pastu jumpa Iem Kelate. Terus ko taste tak hengat kan! KB kato!!!

19 09 2008
HooKeD

*2. Surprisingly to you, I actually do posses the seriousness gene despite of all the stupid things I rambled about in my blog.*

My reaction:
“WHY SO SERIOUS?” sambil pose2 Joker dlm Dark Night.

I am by nature if you look at me, quite serious as well. I guess, 4 years being in the kitchen has turned me into somehow, a very bloody garang chef. Especially when you are the only one which is the opposite sex in a kitchen where everyone feeling2 depa adalah Jamie Oliver tapi sebenarnya nan ado. Keje semua haprak mcm taik unta terjatuh kat atas lantai marmar.

*I was contributing light to the darkness. Someone was impacted positively by me or my company’s work. I don’t feel that now.*

My reaction:
When you can shed a light to someone’s life, its like having multiple orgasm after a damn delicious intercourse. At this point, its not money that motivates you, its the positive reaction, like a good karma that makes you feel that life is worth every second of the day. The reason I quit my last job, although I was being paid HANDSOMELY was the fact that I spend lots of time with salmon fish, less interaction with human and no motivation at all. Asyik2 jerit kat staff aku. Depa suka buat mistake yg sama everyday. As if they do it on purpose to annoy me. Bila depa tak dpt increment gaji ujung tahun baru nak baik2 ngan mak!! Anjing tak? Dah la customer pulak bila rasa makanan tuh sedap, dosi habis 3/4 of the makanan baru la sibuk nak komplen ada rambut la, taste tak sama la. Ingat aku tatau depa nak makan free ka. Pi matila korang aku bubuh taik hidung aku banyak2 dlm makanan korang biar korang bengap 10 generasi. *tetiba aku emo*.

*Everyone’s existence overlaps whether we like it or not. There isn’t one person on earth going unaffected by anyone else. So c’mon. Be more sensitive and I will try to be too. Your bad day could turn into a friend’s spoiled mood that turns into cutting someone off in traffic that could cause an accident that could cause someone to be even further in debt to miss work while they fix their totaled car. Then they can’t make their mortgage payment which could lead to them foreclosing on their house which could lead to interest rates going up, which can lead to a recession…which can lead to miserable, fucked up America 2008.*

My Reaction:
Sekarang baru mak faham subjek ekonomi noks. Mak dah nampak dah the mechanism here and the economic impacts. Mak bukan carut nok but its true. Harus mak berguru ngan uol. Lecturer mak mcm hanjes, bosan dan mak tak faham dia ckp apa!!

Overall nok, mak suka entry uols. Mak setuju ngan mesej yg ko sampaikan. Alhamdulillah I am not the person who call my friends and whine and DQ about what happen. Unless its the matter of life and death, itupun mak akan kongsi ngan kawan yang paling rapat saje. Motif la mak nak whine for small things kan, as if my other friends nan ado masalah depa sendiri hiks!!!

19 09 2008
areps

hooked , tetiber takot nak makan biler u ckp letak taik idung.. opssss….

hey.. kau semua orang kau ckp aku taste kan!!!!!
AWAS.

19 09 2008
Amor

kem farish?? tk baik adik2 wat speku gitew.. ngeh3

20 09 2008
orangmati

“As if they were only person who needs to be heard.”

Ted, eye opener entry ko ni. Sekali cakap queen mother english, habis terpelanting keluar ko nye seriousness eh.

Tapi Ted, orang “kita” ni, even though they know what you wrote is true, to change – is like impossible. And we call the southern “neighbour” kiasu.

20 09 2008
Joseph

Hey, Ted, don’t complain, pal. This is how our lives work. We interact with people, we share our ideas and we make this world a better place to live in. Agree?.. Please at least agree with the last point. Again, nice and neat blog.

21 09 2008
Faisal Admar

Cut queue? Urgh! That can give me a great slap on my face and free tantrum to the passenger! Haha… I hate people who cut queue…

Oh ya, I did so when I was a teen… so now its karma? Darn!

P/s: I like your blog better in English… don’t ask me why.

Leave a Reply

